COVID-19: UK Expected To Remove Nigeria, 10 Other Countries From Red List


The UK government is expected to remove all 11
countries from England’s red list, easing travel
Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi,
Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia and
Zimbabwe are on the list.
The red list was reintroduced in late November as
precaution after the emergence of the Omicron variant.
But ministers have cited the further spread of the variant
as a reason for reviewing travel rules.
Currently, all UK arrivals from red list countries must pay
for and self-isolate in a pre-booked, government-
approved hotel for 10 days.
They must also take Covid tests within 48 hours of
setting off for the UK and PCR tests within two days of
their arrival.
Travel expert Simon Calder tweeted: “Key point: will
people currently in now pointless hotel quarantine be
able to leave?”