House of Reps introduce 6years single term bill for president, governors

A bill has been introduced by the House of Representatives to change the tenure of President, Governors to a single six-year term.

Sponsored by the All Progressive Congress representative John Dyegh, the bill passed through a first reading and was classified by the House for a second reading.

The bill aims to change the president’s tenure from a two-term four-year term to a single six-year term.

If passed, the tenure of National Assembly members and State Houses of Assembly will also be changed to 6years from the current 4year term.

The bill comes at a time of speculation that a third term is being pursued by the president, Muhamadu Buhari.

Next Post

Kano high court dismiss order restraining Ganduje from dethroning emirs

Tue Dec 17 , 2019
A Kano state high court on Tuesday refused to grant an extension to last week’s temporary order to prevent the state governor from intervening with the Kano emirate kingmakers ‘ power. Barrister Nasiru Dangida in suit No K/197/2019, counsel to the kingmakers, asked the court to extend the order until […]