Mikel back in Super Eagles’ AFCON 2019 provisional squad

Super Eagles Coach Gernot Rohr has recalled Mikel John Obi, in a 25-man squad to prepare for the 32nd Africa Cup of Nations finals in Egypt this summer.

Rohr also named winger Ahmed Musa and defenders; Kenneth Omeruo and Abdullahi Shehu in his provisional squad

Mikel, who captained the team at the 2018 FIFA World Cup finals in Russia , has not been with the group since Nigeria’s 2-1 defeat to Argentina in Saint Petersburg.

But according to the Communications Department of the Nigeria Football Federation, a recent meeting with Coach Rohr in the United Kingdom sealed Mikel’s return to the three–time African champions, with the possibility of adding to his 85 international caps

Rohr has largely kept faith with the Trojans who earned a ticket to the AFCON 2019 finals with a match to spare, with goalkeeper Francis Uzoho, defenders Leon Balogun and William Ekong; midfielders Oghenekaro Etebo and Wilfred Ndidi, and forwards Odion Ighalo, Alex Iwobi and Moses Simon also on the rollcall

Rohr has also put on standby six players, namely; defenders Ikouwem Utin and Valentine Ozornwafor who have also been named in Nigeria’s final 21 for the FIFA U-20 World Cup starting in Poland next week

The Franco-German tactician explained to thenff.com that he has included the two players knowing the FIFA U-20 World Cup will end on 15thJune, six days before the first match will be played at the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations

2018 FIFA World Cup defender Bryan Idowu is also on standby, along with Portugal–based Mikel Agu and Egypt-based Junior Ajayi, and home–based goalkeeper Theophilus Afelokhai.

All invited players and officials are to report at the Golden Tulip Hotel, Asaba on Sunday, 2nd June ahead of the friendly with the Warriors of Zimbabwe at the Stephen Keshi Stadium on Saturday, 8th June.

The team will depart for Egypt on Sunday, 9thJune aboard a chartered aircraft, set up a final training camp in the city of Ismailia and tackle Africa’s number one –ranked team, Senegal in their final pre-AFCON friendly on Sunday, 16th June.

Nigeria confront Burundi, Guinea and Madagascar in that order in Group B of the 32nd Africa Cup of Nations taking place in four Egyptian cities 21stJune – 19th July.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa)
Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Middlesbrough FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassar FC, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC, Belgium); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua, China); Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland, Denmark); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)

Rohr Lists Mikel, Chukwueze, 23 Others In Super Eagles’ AFCON 2019 Provisional Squad Six On Standby: Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba FC); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); Ikouwem Utin (Enyimba FC); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal, Portugal); Junior Ajayi (Al Ahly, Egypt); Valentine Ozornwafor (Enyimba FC)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.