Six Enugu Lawmakers Dump LP For PDP


Six members of the Labour Party (LP) in the Enugu State House of Assembly have officially defected to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

They made their defection known on Thursday in Enugu in a letter read by the Speaker, Chief Uche Ugwu, during the plenary at the Assembly Legislative Complex.

Those who defected are Ejike Eze, (Igbo-Eze North 1); Johnson Ugwu (Enugu North) Princess Ugwu (Enugu South Rural) Pius Ezeugwu (Nsukka West) Amuka Williams (Igbo-Etiti East) Osita Eze (Oji River).

According to the defectors, the move resulted from the “existence of irreconcilable division, an ongoing crisis within the labour party at the national level, and across all the state chapters.

“Regrettably, the party has evolved into a state of perpetual discord with various factions embroiled in legal battles thereby undermining its ability to effectively serve the interest of the people.

“The Labour Party once a beacon of hope for progressive ideas, have regrettably become synonymous with internal squabbles, thereby reducing its capacity to fulfil the aspirations of electorates.”

The defectors expressed their optimism, that their new party, PDP, will give them the platform to serve their people committedly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top